Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A change in direction
One really good thing came out of our trip to France and that was me deciding to get off my ample behind and change my life in regards to what I do for a living. I'm not one to deal with 'my cheese had burnt' or 'there's a bone in my chicken'. I end up banging my head against the desk - not good for my head or the desk.:dazed:

I remember coming home when I was 12 and telling my parents that I want to be an archaeologist. Infact I was insistant - I had found a love of history. My dear father (in his wisdom I suppose) shot this dream down, and continued to do so everytime I brought it up. "How will you live?" "You won't make any money doing that". "You'll get dirty, no-one wants to know a dirty girl". Being the child I was, I believed him and ended up settling for something I was not happy doing:noway: - but it kept him happy. I had also learned to keep my dream quiet. Every now and again it would 'pop' up and remind me. I thought of UNISA but my pay pack was not enough. Thought of Open University when I cam here but they did not do the courses. Again I had to work to live as I could not go full time (or part time) to University. Again the dream was put on hold.