Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Australia
HI,

I have a question... I work in London (have been for the past 4 years) and am here on a Portuguese passport. I was born in South Africa and therefore an a holder of a S.A passport too... I know am wanting to go and work in Oz for a while but am finding it difficult... I have had a look on their immigration website and neither S.A. nor Portugal seem to have a reciprocal agreement with OZ for a working Holiday visa!!!!! AAARRRGGGHHH :bigcry:

Would anyone know what I could do to gain a visa? I do not think that I am eligible for a skilled migrant working visa either...the only option I can see is that I be lucky enough to find a company who will be willing to sponsor me (I work in finance)

As I am in the UK on my Portuguese passport, would I be able to apply for Brithish Citizenship on the back of my S.A. passport (even if I have to relinquish my S.A. passport) Am going to call the S.A. House today, but am a bit "scared" as youo know how helpful they can be!!!!
Mon, how long have you lived in the UK?

You need to apply for SA permission before naturalising. That permission seems to be freely given and allows you to keep SA citizenship. (There are standard forms available, it seems no big deal.)
HI John01,

I got off the phone with the S.A. house and they advised me that I would need to apply to keep my citizenship. I also saw on the UK home office website that as a EU member I can apply for Indefinite leave to remain i.e. permanent residence and then apply for citizenship. The only thing that I am confused about is that the guy on the phone told me that I can apply for it after having lived in the UK for 4yrs (which will be in June 06) but the forms I printed from the internet for permanent residence states 5 yrs...He said that after 4yrs you apply and then you have a restriction time of 1yr and then you can apply for citizenship....

I will have to call back and clarify this....
Hi Mon