Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Schools
When a child is having problems at a school, and these problems seem to rear their heads every school year. Do you think the option of changing schools is a good one?

I only changed schools once in the middle of a school year and that was when I was 16 and moved towns, so I have very little experience in what the pro's and con's would be if you were say nearly seven in age. :dazed:

The problem i'm talking about is bullying. the children are taught that if they are picked on to go find a teacher and report it. This my son does, however it seems this is making the situation much worse. The child who is doing all this is a traveller child (one of 17 children in the family! :eek: And this problem was a big problem a year ago, then the family went on their 'travels' and it all stopped. Now I have this child strangling my child, punching him etc and when he reports it, he gets told to stop whinging (by teachers), and gets called names by his class mates (crybaby, tattletale etc).

I phoned the school today and yes they are aware of the problems caused by this family BUT didn't see fit to tell me!

I'm sick to death of this problem and although really like most of the school - the children in it and their parents are really bringing me down.

Do you think at this point, a change in schools would benefit my child, or is bullying everywhere??
In love there are two things - bodies and words.
Cali, I'm sorry to hear your son is having to go through this. Bullying in any form should never be tolerated, and it seems he is really being harshly treated. Assuming you've already approached his teacher and headteacher and got no response, I suggest you should make one last go of it and perhaps approach the school board, or perhaps if you seek the advice of the school nurse - they would at least be able to point you in the right direction of where to find help.