Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
amendment act
hi. I was born in south africa, but have a british passport from desent as my dad is british.
I came to the uk a few years ago, and due to the new amendement act and travelling to sa - you now need your sa passport. so i have applied for my south african passport, and i have my temporary one which is valid for one year. what i want to know is that if i travel into south africa (which i will be next month) will they want to know how i got into the uk in the first place or ask any questions. Also, do you need to get permission for dual nationality if you hold a british passport by decent? or do you automatically just become a dual citizen.
Have deleted my post as my info was in error Blush

I am not an expert in this field, and any advice might be incorrect. My apologies for any confusion Smile
carolinesaunders Wrote:hi. I was born in south africa, but have a british passport from desent as my dad is british.
I came to the uk a few years ago, and due to the new amendement act and travelling to sa - you now need your sa passport. so i have applied for my south african passport, and i have my temporary one which is valid for one year. what i want to know is that if i travel into south africa (which i will be next month) will they want to know how i got into the uk in the first place or ask any questions. Also, do you need to get permission for dual nationality if you hold a british passport by decent? or do you automatically just become a dual citizen.

Caroline, no you wont have any further problems and they will not want to know how you got into the uk. As you have a British passport by descent, you do not need to get permission to hold dual citizenship. Those questions you answered when you applied for your SA passport at SA house.

So no need to worry any more, relax and enjoy your trip back Smile