South Africa Info Forums

Full Version: Linux Mandrake 10 beats the hell out of Window$
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have finally got my Internet connection working in Linux. As you can see from this thread created via the New Linux Mandrake 10. As a newbie I still have some way to go but at least I can start shaking off Bill Gate$'s baby and the blue screen of death. :bashpc:

I would like to thank picanin for the help and suggestions he has contributed to me and others on the subject. Thanks also for recommending Linux Mandrake 10. :thumbs:

I started with Redhat 9 and failed to get a proper connection to the Internet. It just kept redialling the connection. I even tried SuSE Linux 8.2 Professional without real success. They both worked well in every other aspect of the system. Maybe it was too complex for me as a newbie. Now with Linux Mandrake 10, so far so good. Still exploring all the "goodies" that comes with it. It seems it has all you need to run a complete computer system.

Watch this space!

HH
Confusedurfing: Confusedunny:
Quote:Originally posted by Hampshire Hog
I would like to thank [B]picanin for the help and suggestions he has contributed to me and others on the subject. Thanks also for recommending Linux Mandrake 10. :thumbs:
[/B]

Well done Pic's Big Grin

If all goes well I will get my new Lapdog on Tuesday ... while she is clean and beautiful I wonder if I must not make the big leap ??

Question 1

Will a program like Nokia Suite work on Mandrake 10 ?
That is the suite for my mobile ?

How about Office 2003 ?

Q 2

If I make a full back up of my hard drive (with that new Freecom hard drive). Will I be able to access my photo's / video's / Office doc's (.doc / excell etc ?? )

Cheers and thanks so long !

Die Bok

picanin

Quote:Originally posted by FlyingBok
Well done Pic's Big Grin